20 December 2007

President Issues Disaster Declaration for Oklahoma

Due to the devastation caused by the major ice storm that moved through Oklahoma last week, President Bush issued a major disaster declaration for seven Oklahoma counties. President Bush has ordered Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts in the area struck by the severe winter storms.

Federal funding is available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storms in the counties of Cleveland, Lincoln, Mayes, Oklahoma, Pottawatomie, Tulsa, and Wagoner.

FEMA said that damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and additional counties may be designated for assistance after the assessments are fully completed.

Utility companies across Oklahoma say they expect to restore electricity to most customers later today (12-19) or tomorrow.

No comments: